Image Credit: inUth


This year’s Chief Guest is Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan. Former President of the United States Barack Obama who joined Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the Republic Day parade along with his wife Michelle Obama in the year 2015.

A salute of 21 guns and the unfurling of the Indian National Flag by Dr. Rajendra Prasad heralded the historic birth of the Indian Republic on that day. Thereafter 26th of January was decreed a national holiday and was recognized as the Republic Day of India.

The Constitution gave the citizens of India the power to choose their own government and paved the way for democracy. Dr. Rajendra Prasad took oath as the first President of India at the Durbar Hall in Government House and this was followed by the Presidential drive along a five-mile route to the Irwin Stadium, where he unfurled the National Flag.